Close
FR

Information

The content of this site is reserved for healthcare professionals, in accordance with Law No. 2011-2012 of December 29, 2011 relating to strengthening the health safety of medicines and health products, including the implementing decree relating to the advertising.

By clicking on OK, you confirm that you are a healthcare professional.

ACCEPT
close

Spontaneous application form





















    We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it.

    FreeO2 : OPTIMIZED OXYGEN THERAPY AT EVERY STAGE OF TREATMENT

    FreeO2

    The FreeO2 is a revolutionary oxygen therapy device developed by pioneers of the technology. By continuously and automatically adjusting each patient’s oxygen flow, regardless of age group (pediatric or adult), the device accounts for individual needs and dynamics to help them remain within the target SpO2 set by the clinician. The first device of its kind, the FreeO2 lets clinicians set target saturations (SpO2), then automatically administers and titrates patients’ oxygen flow and weans them as needed. Operating on a closed-loop principle and supplied by an oxygen source, it continuously measures the patient’s oxygen saturation (SpO2), then quickly and precisely adjusts the O2 flow rate between 0 and 20 L/min until the patient is fully weaned. This allows patients to be treated according to their specific needs, reducing the risk of complications from hypoxemia and hyperoxia.

     

     

     

    What is oxygen therapy?

    Oxygen therapy is a first-line respiratory assistance treatment that is used on a daily basis. Millions of patients receive oxygen each day, whether they’re in the hospital or at home. Oxygen therapy is a key treatment, but it requires careful adjustments in routine clinical situations. Although it is often considered to be a risk-free treatment, many publications1 have emphasized the need to carefully adjust the amount of oxygen administered in order to avoid complications associated with hypoxemia as well as hyperoxia, which is receiving increasing levels of attention1.

    Clinicians generally have a positive attitude about oxygen and are more careful to correct hypoxemia than to avoid hyperoxia. In routine clinical situations, the manual and sporadic adjustment of oxygen flow rates often results in higher than necessary levels of oxygen being administered, thus prolonging the duration of oxygen therapy.

    PRINCIPLES AND BENEFITS

    CONTINUOUS MONITORING OF OXYGEN SATURATION

    The FreeO2 device operates on a closed-loop principle. Supplied by an oxygen source, it continuously measures the patient’s oxygen saturation (SpO2), then quickly and precisely adjusts the O2 flow rate until complete weaning.

    AUTOMATIC TITRATION AND WEANING

    To meet target saturation (SpO2) of your patient, the FreeO2 automatically titrates your patients’ oxygen flow and weans them as needed.

    CONTINUOUS ADJUSTMENT TO PATIENTS’ NEEDS

    By continuously and automatically adjusting each patient’s oxygen flow, the FreeO2 accounts for individual needs and dynamics to help them remain within the target SpO2 set by the clinician.

    29%2 SHORTER HOSPITAL STAYS

    When tested on patients hospitalized for an exacerbation of COPD, the FreeO2 made it possible to reduce the length of hospital stays by 29%2 (6.7 days compared with 9.5 days).

    COST OF CARE REDUCED BY 21%3 PER COPD PATIENT

    On the basis of the aforementioned clinical study, a medical economic study that calculated total hospital costs at 180 days found an overall 21%3 reduction in cost of care per COPD patient. The study data also points to a reduction of healthcare staff’s workload and greater adherence to clinical protocol.

    MORE EFFECTIVE TREATMENT AND FEWER COMPLICATIONS IN THE EMERGENCY ROOM

    When used in the emergency room to manage acute respiratory distress, the FreeO2 made it possible to treat patients more effectively (assessed based on patient evaluation and SpO2 target), limit complications related to hypoxemia and hyperoxia, wean certain patients more quickly, and avoid transferring patients to intensive care.

    TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

    A versatile, simple, and user-friendly tool designed for all hospital units

    The FreeO device is suitable for all patients, from pediatric to adults, who are breathing independently and require oxygen therapy. It offers a simple, intuitive touchscreen interface that allows all healthcare staff to master the system quickly. It only takes a few taps to start, pause, or resume treatment and access the monitoring settings

    Continuous oxygen therapy monitoring for better patient supervision

    The FreeO2 device uses an oximeter worn continuously by the patient. The oximeter makes it possible to monitor and record conventional cardiorespiratory parameters and, following analysis of the plethysmographic signal, to extract other physiological parameters such as the respiratory rate. Continuous recording of these parameters, which can be shown as a graph covering up to 72 hours, offers bedside access to essential information for decision-making, assessing a patient’s progress, and evaluating any necessary changes to the respiratory support being provided.

    Oxygen therapy settings

    Cardiorespiratory monitoring

    Trend graphs

    GET THE FreeO2 BROCHURE







      Contact form

      Do not hesitate to contact us for any information!


















        Publications

        1. Sources : O’Driscoll BR1, Howard LS, Davison AG; British Thoracic Society, 2008: BTS guideline for emergency oxygen use in adult patients./ O’Driscoll BR, Howard LS, Earis J, Mak V; British Thoracic Society, 2017: BTS Guideline for oxygen use in adults in healthcare and emergency settings / A S. M. Dobbe, R Stolmeijer, J C. ter Maaten and J J. M. Ligtenberg; BMC Emergency Medicine, 2018: Titration of oxygen therapy in critically ill emergency department patients: a feasibility study / J L Cousins, P AB Wark, and V M McDonald; Chron Obstruct Pulmon Dis., 2016: Acute oxygen therapy: a review of prescribing and delivery practices
        2. Selon la moyenne des sources suivantes : Lellouche F, Bouchard P, Roberge M, Simard S, L’Her E, Maltais F, Lacasse Y; International Journal of COPD: 24 August 2016 Volume 2016:  Automated oxygen titration and weaning with FreeOin patients with acute exacerbation of COPD: a pilot randomized trial / L’Her E, Dias P, Gouillou M, Riou A, Souquiere L, Paleiron N, Archambault P, Bouchard PA, Lellouche F; IEur Respir J. 2017: Automatic versus manual oxygen administration in the emergency department / Non-published datas: clinical trial n° NCT03396172
        3. Source : T G Poder, C. R C Kouakou, P-A Bouchard, V Tremblay, S Blais, F Maltais, F Lellouche. BMJ OPEN, 2017: Cost-effectiveness of FreeO2 in patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease hospitalised for acute exacerbations: analysis of a pilot study in Quebec

Close
EN

Information

Le contenu de ce site est réservé aux professionnels de santé, conformément à la loi N°2011-2012 du 29 décembre 2011 relative au renforcement de la sécurité sanitaire du médicament et des produits de santé, y compris le décret d’application relatif à la publicité.

En cliquant sur ACCEPTER, vous confirmez être un professionnel de santé.

ACCEPTER
close

Formulaire de candidature spontanée





















    Nous utilisons des témoins pour vous garantir la meilleure expérience sur notre site Web. Si vous continuez à utiliser ce site, nous supposerons que vous en êtes satisfait.

    FreeO2 : L’OXYGÉNOTHÉRAPIE OPTIMISÉE À TOUTES LES ÉTAPES DU PARCOURS DE SOINS

    FreeO2

    Appareil révolutionnaire dans le domaine de l’oxygénothérapie, le FreeO2MC a été développé par des pionniers de cette technologie. Il adapte automatiquement et en continu le débit d’oxygène fourni au patient, quel que soit le groupe d’âge (pédiatrique et adulte), en tenant compte de ses besoins et de sa dynamique de réponse dans le but de respecter l’objectif d’oxygénation (SpO2) défini par le clinicien. Premier appareil en son genre, le FreeO2 prend automatiquement en charge la titration et l’administration du débit d’oxygène et le sevrage de votre patient, vous permettant de définir votre objectif de saturation (SpO2). Fonctionnant selon le principe d’une boucle fermée d’asservissement et alimenté par une source d’oxygène, il mesure en continu la saturation en oxygène (SpO2) du patient et ajuste de façon rapide et précise le débit d’O2, entre 0 et 20 l/min, qui lui est administré jusqu’au sevrage complet. Les patients sont donc traités selon leurs besoins particuliers, limitant ainsi le risque de complications liées à l’hypoxémie et l’hyperoxie.

    QU’EST-CE QUE L’OXYGÉNOTHÉRAPIE?

    L’oxygénothérapie est le traitement d’assistance respiratoire de première intention au quotidien. Des millions de patients reçoivent de l’oxygène chaque jour, que ce soit durant leur séjour à l’hôpital ou à domicile. L’oxygénothérapie est un traitement au cœur du système de santé qui exige un ajustement plus précis en routine clinique. Pourtant, bien qu’il soit souvent considéré comme un traitement inoffensif, de nombreuses publications1 ont souligné la nécessité d’ajuster avec précision l’apport en oxygène afin d’éviter les complications associées à l’hypoxémie, mais également à l’hyperoxie, qui fait l’objet de plus en plus d’attention.

    Les cliniciens ont généralement un a priori positif par rapport à l’oxygène et ont davantage tendance à corriger l’hypoxémie qu’à éviter la survenue d’une hyperoxie. En routine clinique, l’ajustement manuel et irrégulier du débit d’oxygène conduit souvent à l’administration de débits d’oxygène plus élevés que nécessaire, ce qui contribue à prolonger la durée de l’oxygénothérapie.

    PRINCIPES ET BÉNÉFICES

    MESURE EN CONTINU DE LA SATURATION D’OXYGÈNE

    L'appareil FreeO2 fonctionne selon le principe d’une boucle fermée d’asservissement. Alimenté par une source d’oxygène, il mesure en continu la saturation en oxygène (SpO2) du patient et ajuste de façon rapide et précise le débit d’O2 qui lui est administré jusqu’au sevrage complet.

    PRISE EN CHARGE AUTOMATIQUE DE LA TITRATION ET DU SEVRAGE

    Pour définir l’objectif de saturation (SpO2) de votre patient, le FreeO2 prend automatiquement en charge la titration du débit d’oxygène et le sevrage de votre patient.

    ADAPTATION EN CONTINU AUX BESOINS DU PATIENT

    En adaptant en continu et automatiquement le débit d’oxygène fourni au patient, le FreeO2 tient compte de ses besoins et de sa dynamique de réponse dans le but de respecter l’objectif d’oxygénation (SpO2) défini par le clinicien.

    RÉDUCTION DE LA DURÉE DU SÉJOUR HOSPITALIER DE 29%2

    Testé dans le contexte de la prise en charge des patients hospitalisés pour une exacerbation aiguë de la BPCO, le FreeO2 a notamment permis de réduire la durée du séjour hospitalier de 29 %2 (6,7 jours par rapport à 9,5 jours).

    RÉDUCTION GLOBALE DU COÛT DE LA PRISE EN CHARGE DE 21%3 PAR PATIENT BPCO

    Sur la base de cette étude clinique, une étude médico-économique prenant en compte l’ensemble des coûts hospitaliers à 180 jours a constaté une réduction globale du coût de la prise en charge de l’ordre de 21 %3 par patient BPCO. Les données de l’étude suggèrent par ailleurs une réduction de la charge de travail du personnel soignant et un meilleur respect des protocoles cliniques.

    TRAITEMENT PLUS EFFICACE ET RÉDUCTION DES COMPLICATIONS AUX URGENCES

    Utilisé aux urgences pour la prise en charge de la détresse respiratoire aiguë, le FreeO2 permet de traiter plus efficacement les patients (auparavant, évaluation par le patient selon l’objectif de SpO2), de limiter les complications liées à l’hypoxémie et à l’hyperoxie, de sevrer plus rapidement certains patients, et d’éviter le transfert d’autres patients vers les soins intensifs.

    SPÉCIFICATIONS TECHNIQUES

    UN OUTIL POLYVALENT, SIMPLE ET INTUITIF DESTINÉ À TOUS LES SERVICES MÉDICAUX EN MILIEU HOSPITALIER

    L’appareil FreeO2 est indiqué pour tous les patients, du pédiatrique à l’adulte, respirant spontanément et nécessitant une oxygénothérapie. Il est doté d’une interface d’utilisation tactile simple et intuitive qui permet une prise en charge très rapide par l’ensemble du personnel soignant. Quelques clics suffisent pour commencer, suspendre ou reprendre le traitement et accéder à l’ensemble des paramètres de surveillance.

    UNE SURVEILLANCE CONTINUE DE L’OXYGÉNOTHÉRAPIE QUI ASSURE UN MEILLEUR SUIVI DE L’ÉVOLUTION DU PATIENT

    L’appareil FreeO2 utilise un capteur d’oxymétrie positionné en continu sur le patient. Ce capteur permet la surveillance et l’enregistrement des paramètres cardio-respiratoires classiques et, après analyse du signal de pléthysmographie, l’extraction d’autres paramètres physiologiques telle que la fréquence respiratoire.

    L’enregistrement continu de ces paramètres, qui peuvent être restitués sous forme de tendances graphiques (jusqu’à 72 h), permet de disposer, au chevet du patient, d’outils d’aide à la décision indispensables pour évaluer l’évolution du patient et la nécessité ou non d’adapter le type de support respiratoire qui lui est proposé.

    RÉGLAGES DE L’OXYGÉNOTHÉRAPIE

    SURVEILLANCE CARDIO-RESPIRATOIRE

    TENDANCES GRAPHIQUES

    OBTENIR LA BROCHURE FreeO2







      Formulaire de contact

      N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous pour toute information!


















        Publications

        1. Sources : O’Driscoll BR1, Howard LS, Davison AG; British Thoracic Society, 2008: BTS guideline for emergency oxygen use in adult patients./ O’Driscoll BR, Howard LS, Earis J, Mak V; British Thoracic Society, 2017: BTS Guideline for oxygen use in adults in healthcare and emergency settings / A S. M. Dobbe, R Stolmeijer, J C. ter Maaten and J J. M. Ligtenberg; BMC Emergency Medicine, 2018: Titration of oxygen therapy in critically ill emergency department patients: a feasibility study / J L Cousins, P AB Wark, and V M McDonald; Chron Obstruct Pulmon Dis., 2016: Acute oxygen therapy: a review of prescribing and delivery practices
        2. Selon la moyenne des sources suivantes : Lellouche F, Bouchard P, Roberge M, Simard S, L’Her E, Maltais F, Lacasse Y; International Journal of COPD: 24 August 2016 Volume 2016:  Automated oxygen titration and weaning with FreeOin patients with acute exacerbation of COPD: a pilot randomized trial / L’Her E, Dias P, Gouillou M, Riou A, Souquiere L, Paleiron N, Archambault P, Bouchard PA, Lellouche F; IEur Respir J. 2017: Automatic versus manual oxygen administration in the emergency department / Non-published datas: clinical trial n° NCT03396172
        3. Source : T G Poder, C. R C Kouakou, P-A Bouchard, V Tremblay, S Blais, F Maltais, F Lellouche. BMJ OPEN, 2017: Cost-effectiveness of FreeO2 in patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease hospitalised for acute exacerbations: analysis of a pilot study in Quebec